Online Classroom Spring 2016 Update

Oh my goodness! Time flies! It’s been 1,5 years ago since my last blog or article. What happened?  I got lost in a myriad of creative projects, AND I have lost my rights to call myself a blogger.

Despite my blog hiatus there was, in fact, a LOT happening. There was a theater tour with my band The More The Mary, concerts with my Sad Songs For Happy People, and together with the fabulous Pavadita tango string quartet… there was new teaching projects with Music In All in Luxembourg, the beginning of an exciting new project in Helsinki with the guys from Finnish e-learning company Rockway, and teaching many summer singing workshops at Buitenkunst, one of my favorite places in the whole world to teach.

Once upon a time there was a woman with a vision…

September 2014 also saw the launch of my Online Classroom a new, interactive learning environment that I developed for people who love singing. Working with the online classroom has been so much fun, with participants from Canada to Lithuania, Germany to California, The Netherlands to Turkey, Ecuador to the UK… It’s my “creative teaching project baby”, a vision and dream coming true to me!

You see, I love connecting people. Yes, a bit like the slogan of that communications and information technology company from my native country Finland… Actually, one of my CVT teacher colleagues once told me, “Katja, they should just use your name for that slogan, because that’s who you are and what you do.” And I guess that’s the power of music (and music education) too, it connects people from different ages, social backgrounds, cultures…

So that’s what I love, connecting people – and being connected to people – who share the same types of dreams, goals, passions and interests as I do. And for me those people are people who love singing, who love learning more about the singing voice, creative people who want to explore their singing voice and grow as singing human beings. I love being surrounded by people who are interested in creative growth, and who like to work on their artistic dreams and goals. These are the types of people I meet in my work, the types of people that I teach and mentor.

In my teaching over the years I have noticed that no matter where in the world we are, we are all struggling with the same types of problems when it comes to singing. So there might be a singer sitting in Peru, and another one sitting in Germany, both experiencing the same type of singing technique issues, struggling with practice related questions, frustrations related to overwhelm, fears and blocks related to artistic goals. So we’re basically all in the same boat!

I have also noticed how empowering it is to be surrounded by people who share the dreams and goals. Together we can learn so much faster, so much more, and it’s much more fun! So 2 years ago I started developing this vision and dream that I have, of connecting singers, singing teachers and creative people from all over the world. And it’s been so much fun! My Online Classroom is a growing community, and I keep developing new materials, courses and resources to add to the classroom in the future. As a matter of fact, as I write this, I am developing a whole new website for my Online Classroom. It will be awesome and make the learning experience even better!

…and this is where YOU come in the picture!

Your thoughts, questions, comments and feedback is making it possible for me to create a learning environment that is really valuable to you. So I’d love to hear from you! What kind of things are you working on? What would you like to learn more about? What are you struggling with in your singing practice? What types of frustrations, fears or obstacles do you encounter on the road towards your artistic goals? Time management? Goal-setting? Knowing what, when or how much to practice?

I’m just throwing out some questions in the air…feel free to share the good stuff too 🙂 What works? What fills you with enthusiasm?

 

I will keep you updated during the different stages of developing this community and taking it to the next level. Let’s do this together!

And because I’ve really been missing writing, you’ll be seeing more posts around this blog too. During my blog hiatus my writing didn’t actually stop, it just ended up clogging the harddisk of my computer, and filling many journals… I have so many ideas in my head, things I reflect on, experiences I like to share with you – basically just about this multi-faceted (and sometimes a tiny bit crazy) life as a solo-artist-preneur, about the wonders of the voice, the teaching resources I love, the highs and lows of the creative process, the frustrations and lightbulb moments of practice, and the magic of the Singing Self.

…so here we go…let’s set sail again on this creative ship and see what kind of exciting destinations it will take us to!

 

Leave a Reply

